NSW Opportunity Classes

  • In 2019 - Number of vacancies: 1,740 - Number of applicants: 11,850
  • There are 75 opportunity classes offering placement in Year 5 for entry in 2019.
  • The minimum entry score for an opportunity class is the score of the lowest scoring student to accept a place there. Minimum entry scores vary from school to school and from year to year.
  • The minimum entry score is determined by the geographical location of the schools and the academic merit of the students applying for entry.
  • The minimum entry score is not an indicator of the relative performance of the primary schools with opportunity classes.
  • For further information about applying for placement in an opportunity class in Year 5, visit the Public Schools website.

Data Source: Public Schools. NSW Department of Education

NSW Opportunity Classes - Minimum Entry Scores

SchoolEntry Score for 2020Entry Score for 2019Entry Score for 2018Entry Score for 2017
Alexandria Park Community School202205206212
Alstonville Public School161162163170
Armidale City Public School171185164165
Artarmon Public School232232230229
Ashfield Public School226222224217
Balgowlah Heights Public School211215212223
Balmain Public School214212215207
Bathurst West Public School160160169160
Beecroft Public School251246245245
Biraban Public School162160162168
Blacktown South Public School218216210204
Blaxcell Street Public School205201204204
Blaxland East Public SchoolNA185NA180
Bradbury Public School187190186176
Camden South Public School186189187187
Caringbah North Public School208209216211
Casula Public School205209208207
Cessnock West Public School164161163161
Chatswood Public School233229224227
Colyton Public School185189189189
Coonabarabran Public School163161160160
Cudgegong Valley Public School163169160159
Dubbo West Public School161160161162
Dural Public School232230227225
Earlwood Public School212213212222
Ermington Public School239234239236
Georges Hall Public School222225220217
Glenbrook Public School184NA187NA
Goonellabah Public School160164161162
Gosford Public School197205199200
Goulburn West Public School162163166174
Greenacre Public School200201203209
Greystanes Public School226228226224
Harrington Street Public School204204212214
Holsworthy Public School220216212224
Hurstville Public School221217224224
Illaroo Road Public School161164169158
Ironbark Ridge Public School229225226220
Jewells Primary School172185183192
Kingswood Public School190188187183
Leumeah Public School211208215206
Lithgow Public School162160160162
Maryland Public School170171174177
Matthew Pearce Public School239237236234
Mona Vale Public School207216211214
Moree Public School162162164162
Neutral Bay Public School222225223222
New Lambton South Public School203211188194
Newbridge Heights Public School213197205206
North Rocks Public School243238241242
Picnic Point Public School217223219214
Port Macquarie Public School160162160164
Quakers Hill Public School224219222217
Queanbeyan South Public School168160164167
Richmond Public School170167165161
Rutherford Public School177174176165
Ryde Public School230227224223
Smithfield Public School204189200200
Soldiers Point Public School176181167183
South Grafton Public School161160161162
St Andrews Public School194199191190
St Johns Park Public School201215225228
Sturt Public School164181177173
Summer Hill Public School238233238233
Sutherland Public School211209219213
Tahmoor Public School161171166160
Tamworth Public School176183181176
Tamworth South Public School161161162160
Tighes Hill Public School185187181178
Toormina Public School162163161162
Waitara Public School237231227226
Wentworth Falls Public School165180193182
Wilkins Public School211215215208
Wollongong Public School208207205213
Woollahra Public School219217221227
Wyong Public School166177177175
Source: NSW DoE - Opportunity Classes Minimum Entry Scores

Opportunity Classes Test Dates

Year Dates of the Opportunity Classes Placement Test
(for Year 4 students seeking entry to Year 5 the following year)
2020 16 September 2020 for 2021 entry
2021 21 July 2021 for 2022 entry

Information Source: Public Schools, NSW Department of Education

Get Instant Access
Take Online Practice Tests